March 28, 2023

Change One Life, Improve A Community!

"Changing Lives and Improving Communities Since 2014"

LSU QB Jayden Daniels Named Semifinalist For Davey O’Brien & Walter Camp Player of the Year Award

LSU QB Jayden Daniels is named a semifinalist for two of college football's prestigious awards. (Photo taken by Billy Metcalf)

LSU quarterback Jayden Daniels transferred in from Arizona State and it has turned out to be a good decision for the former Sun Devil as in his first year as a Tiger, he has been selected as a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award, which goes to the nation’s top quarterback, and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, which goes to the nation’s top player as voted on by the 131 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

The Davey O’Brien Award is named after the former TCU legend that became the first quarterback to win the Heisman Trophy, the Walter Camp Award, and the Maxwell Award all in the same season back in 1938.

The Walter Camp Award is named after Walter Camp, who is known as the father of American Football.

Daniels has quarterbacked the Tigers to a SEC West title and a number six national ranking in the College Football Playoff poll.

His play has been a major reason why the Tigers are in the thick of the College Football Playoff hunt as he is the only player in the SEC to be ranked top ten in both passing yards and rushing yards.

Through 10 games, the dual threat quarterback has completed 195 of 283 passes for 14 touchdowns and only two interceptions while also setting a single season record for most rushing touchdowns by a LSU quarterback with 10. His 24 single season touchdowns is seventh in school history and 14 of those touchdowns came in a three game stretch.

This season, Daniels earned SEC Offensive Player of the Week Awards in back to back weeks and became the first quarterback to throw over 200 yards in a game while rushing for 100 yards in a game during regulation and he did it twice this season.

Last year’s Davey O’Brien Award winner Bryce Young and 19 other players were selected as semifinalists. See the entire list of candidates below!

2022 Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalists

Stetson Bennett, Georgia, Sr., 5-11, 190, Blackshear, Ga.

Jayden Daniels, LSU, Jr., 6-3, 200, San Bernardino, Calif.

Max Duggan, TCU, Sr., 6-2, 210, Council Bluffs, Iowa

Frank Harris, UTSA, Sr., 6-0, 205, Schertz, Texas

Sam Hartman, Wake Forest, Jr., 6-1, 210, Charlotte, N.C.

Hendon Hooker, Tennessee, Sr., 6-4, 218, Greensboro, N.C.

Drake Maye, North Carolina, R-Fr., 6-4, 220, Huntersville, N.C.

Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina, Jr., 6-3, 215, Indian Trail, N.C.

J.J. McCarthy, Michigan, So., 6-3, 196, La Grange Park, Ill.

Tanner Mordecai, SMU, Sr., 6-3, 214, Waco, Texas

Bo Nix, Oregon, Sr., 6-2, 213, Pinson, Ala.

Michael Penix Jr., Washington, Jr., 6-3, 213, Tampa, Fla.

Austin Reed, WKU, Sr., 6-2, 230, St. Augustine Beach, Fla.

Cameron Rising, Utah, Jr., 6-2, 218, Ventura, Calif.

Will Rogers, Mississippi State, Jr., 6-2, 210, Brandon, Miss.

Kurtis Rourke, Ohio, Jr., 6-5, 216, Oakville, Ontario, Canada

C.J. Stroud, Ohio State, So., 6-3, 218, Inland Empire, Calif.

Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA, Sr., 6-1, 205, Las Vegas, Nev.

Jordan Travis, Florida State, Jr., 6-1, 212, West Palm Beach, Fla.

Caleb Williams, USC, So., 6-1, 215, Washington, D.C.

Bryce Young, Alabama, Jr., 6-0, 194, Pasadena, Calif.

In order to get involved and vote for the Davey O’Brien Award, the next step in the process will be to select the award’s three finalists based on voting from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee as well as the second round of the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, which will take place on the award’s three social media accounts—InstagramTwitter and Facebook. The top five vote getters on each platform will receive bonus committee member ballots which will be added to the votes cast by the National Selection Committee.

To participate in the Fan Vote, fans must like the original Davey O’Brien Award post highlighting the respective quarterback. The three finalists will be tabbed on Tuesday, Nov. 29. The winner will be announced live on Thursday, Dec. 8 on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

In regards to the Walter Camp Award, a list of five finalists will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 30, and the winner announced on ESPN’s College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 8.

Last year’s winner was Michigan State running back Kenneth Walker. Here are all of the semifinalists for the Walter Camp Award below.

Walter Camp Player of Year Semifinalists

Israel Abanikanda, Pittsburgh, RB

Will Anderson Jr., Alabama, LB

Stetson Bennett IV, Georgia, QB

Brock Bowers, Georgia, TE

Chase Brown, Illinois, RB

Zach Charbonnet, UCLA, RB

Blake Corum, Michigan, RB

Jayden Daniels, LSU, QB

Max Duggan, TCU, QB

Marvin Harrison Jr, Ohio State, WR

Hendon Hooker, Tennessee, QB

Jalin Hyatt, Tennessee, WR

Drake Maye, North Carolina, QB

Michael Mayer, Notre Dame, TE

Bo Nix, Oregon, QB

Michael Penix Jr., Washington, QB

Bijan Robinson, Texas, RB

Noah Sewell, Oregon, LB

CJ Stroud, Ohio State, QB

Tuli Tuipulotu, USC, DL

Caleb Williams, USC, QB

Bryce Young, Alabama, QB

Subscribe to our email list. Your contact info will not be sold nor given to anyone. You can unsubscribe at anytime.

* indicates required
Email Adrress
College Coach, High School Coach, Athlete, Fan

%d bloggers like this: