The Top 20 College Football Teams Since 2000: A Gridiron Extravaganza!

Howdy there, football fanatics! I’m Andy Bryson, the CEO of Gridiron Football, and today, we’re diving headfirst into the wild world of college football. Buckle up, because we’re about to embark on a journey through the best 20 college football teams since the turn of the century. Get ready for touchdowns, tailgates, and plenty of pigskin action as we count down the most electrifying teams that have graced the gridiron since 2000.

  1. 2019 LSU Tigers: Joe Burrow and Coach Ed Orgeron orchestrated an offensive symphony that dazzled the nation. The Tigers scored points at a record pace, and their defense wasn’t too shabby either. This LSU squad cruised to a national title and will be remembered as one of the greatest teams of all time.
  2. 2001 Miami Hurricanes: Kicking off our list is the ‘Canes, who rode a wave of swagger and talent to a national championship. Led by the legendary Larry Coker and a star-studded roster, this Miami squad boasted a defense for the ages and a relentless offense that dominated the competition.
  3. 2004 USC Trojans: In the mid-2000s, the USC Trojans were a force to be reckoned with. Under the tutelage of Pete Carroll and the arm of Matt Leinart, they reigned supreme. The Trojans boasted two Heisman winners, Leinart and Reggie Bush, and their electrifying play left fans in awe.
  4. 2005 Texas Longhorns: Speaking of unforgettable title games, who can forget the epic showdown between Texas and USC in the 2006 Rose Bowl? Vince Young led the Longhorns to victory in a game for the ages, capping off a perfect season.
  5. 2009 Alabama Crimson Tide: Under the mastermind of Nick Saban, the Crimson Tide began their dynasty in the late 2000s. The 2009 team featured a smothering defense and the emergence of a young running back named Mark Ingram, who became the program’s first Heisman Trophy winner.
  6. 2010 Auburn Tigers: Cam Newton’s superhuman abilities led Auburn to a championship season, proving that a one-man wrecking crew can indeed win you a title. Newton’s dual-threat prowess was a sight to behold, and he lifted the Tigers to victory on more than one occasion.
  7. 2013 Florida State Seminoles: Jameis Winston’s freshman season was nothing short of spectacular, as he guided the ‘Noles to an undefeated season and a national championship. Their prolific offense and stout defense were a recipe for success.
  8. 2008 Florida Gators: Tim Tebow’s Gators were a sight to behold. Urban Meyer’s squad featured a powerful offense and a swarming defense. Tebow’s leadership and playmaking ability made Florida a perennial powerhouse during his time in Gainesville.
  9. 2012 Alabama Crimson Tide: Nick Saban’s Alabama teams have become synonymous with excellence, and the 2012 squad was no exception. The defense, led by the likes of C.J. Mosley and Dee Milliner, was ferocious, and they claimed yet another national championship.
  10. 2018 Clemson Tigers: Clemson’s modern dynasty began under Dabo Swinney, and the 2018 team was the first to make a massive statement. Led by freshman sensation Trevor Lawrence, the Tigers trounced Alabama in the national championship, signaling a changing of the guard.
  11. 2014 Ohio State Buckeyes: The Buckeyes, under the guidance of Urban Meyer, pulled off a remarkable feat by winning the national championship with their third-string quarterback, Cardale Jones. This team overcame adversity and shocked the college football world.
  12. 2017 Georgia Bulldogs: The Bulldogs came oh-so-close to winning it all but fell just short in an overtime thriller against Alabama in the national championship game. Kirby Smart’s squad featured a suffocating defense and a strong ground game.
  13. 2011 LSU Tigers: Les Miles had the Tigers humming in 2011, boasting a stifling defense that had opponents seeing nothing but Bayou Bengal purple. Unfortunately, they fell just short in the national championship game, but their dominance throughout the season can’t be denied.
  14. 2002 Ohio State Buckeyes: Led by the charismatic Jim Tressel, the Buckeyes claimed their first national title in over three decades. Their suffocating defense and a freshman running back named Maurice Clarett were key contributors to their success.
  15. 2016 Alabama Crimson Tide: Nick Saban’s Crimson Tide had their sights set on another title in 2016, and they delivered. A dominant defense and a steady hand at quarterback in Jalen Hurts propelled Alabama to the promised land once more.
  16. 2000 Oklahoma Sooners: The Sooners were back in a big way in 2000, riding the arm of Josh Heupel to a national championship. Bob Stoops’ squad was unrelenting, and their championship win over Florida State is one for the history books.
  17. 2015 Alabama Crimson Tide: The Crimson Tide made their second appearance on our list, and for good reason. This team boasted a stellar defense and a dynamic running back in Derrick Henry, who would go on to win the Heisman Trophy.
  18. 2003 LSU Tigers: Nick Saban’s influence was still felt in Baton Rouge in 2003 when the Tigers claimed their second national championship of the decade. This squad was known for its rugged defense and a gutsy quarterback in Matt Mauck.
  19. 2014 Oregon Ducks: Chip Kelly’s Ducks were known for their high-flying, uptempo offense, and the 2014 team was no exception. Led by Marcus Mariota, who won the Heisman Trophy, Oregon reached the national championship game but came up just short.
  20. 2006 Boise State Broncos: Rounding out our list is the feel-good story of the decade. Boise State, under coach Chris Petersen, captivated the nation with their trick plays and an unforgettable win over Oklahoma in the Fiesta Bowl. The little guys proved they could hang with the big dogs.

There you have it, folks, the top 20 college football teams since 2000, each one a unique chapter in the grand tapestry of college football history. These squads showcased talent, grit, and the indomitable spirit of the game we all love. So whether you bleed crimson and cream, wear orange and blue, or root for the underdog, let’s raise a toast to the teams that have given us countless memories on the gridiron. Here’s to the next 20 years of college football excellence!